Gefen Whole Organic Chestnuts – Item of the Day — 7 Comments

    • I see them in stock right now. But may be it has to do with where items are warehoused?

      This brand is good too, not organic but I have used them and they are just as good taste wise,

  1. It shows as in stock for Subscribe and Save for me, which won’t get here in time either. Thanks for the alternate, I may try those instead.

  2. Just finished prepping this recipe for Turkey day! Made my own “paleo foccacia” bread for croutons…and we harvested some fresh chestnuts to use as well. Thanks in advance for what I am sure will be an AMAZING recipe 🙂

  3. For those practicing kashrut (kosher eating, etc.)…

    Note the kosher symbol (hechsher) at the bottom left of the package. The most common symbol is the OU.

    The word “Parve” (rhymes with starve) below it means that the product is neither meat nor milk. Technically, certain milk products can be chemically disassembled and then included in a food product. This would be considered “not milk anymore” for religious purposes while people who are allergic to milk products might still react, so don’t depend on “Parve” as a guarantee.

    A “D” below an OU symbol means “dairy products included” or “dairy equipment was used” This might happen with ice cream bars and ice bars. While ice bars do not have milk in them, it is obvious that they would be created in the same machines that created ice cream bars. Thus they are often marked “D” or “DE” for Dairy Equipment.

    Remember that not all ingredients are required to be listed on packaging. These are called “incidental ingredients” such as the grease used to lubricate roller bars and pans. This is why aluminum foil requires kosher certification even though it is not food. Originally, aluminum foil was rolled out with rollers lubricated with pig lard. Frying oil is an “incidental ingredient”. Coffee and margarine are sometimes processed with acetone and wood alcohol, but are not listed as ingredients on the label. Thus label-reading can be unreliable.

    Food products often include food additives with strange names in order to hide what the ingredients really are. For example:

    Alpha Amylase (hog pancreas) used in flour to break down starches.

    Ambergris (whale intestines) used as a flavoring and as a perfume.

    Carmine (Cochineal: an insect found on prickly pear cacti) used as red food coloring in apple sauce, fruit cocktail, meat and spices.

    Castoreum (beaver glands) rarely used but can be used as a vanilla substitute usually listed as “natural additive.”

    Civet, Absolute (cat secretions, but don’t ask from where) used as a flavoring in beverages, candy and chewing gum.

    Alex Shrugged






  4. Oh… the Hebrew on the upper left of the packaging says “Kosher for Passover, parve”.

    As I said before, “parve” means neither meat nor milk.

    Alex Shrugged