Author Topic: Where to start?  (Read 3631 times)

Browncoat

Where to start?
« on: January 11, 2010, 03:59:38 PM »
I currently live several hours from my BOL in the desert.  Due to that, I only get out to it once a month or so.  I currently have no infrastructure on the property other than a well without a pump. (That will be fixed in the next few months, I hope.)

My question is this:  I want to utilize permaculture principles and ideas to green everything up and make it self-sufficient.  Where do I start?  What do I do first?  Is installing a swale system the first thing that should be done to harness the rain water?  I'd have to purchase straw to act as a mulch, but if it works, it'd be worth it.  The way I'm thinking, that would be the first thing, but as I've never done this before I'm unsure.

Browncoat

Re: Where to start?
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2010, 11:21:50 AM »
Well, looks like no one knows the answer.

Fortunately, my books on permaculture have arrived.  Like a kid on Christmas morning, I ripped open the shipping boxes to find my new copies of:

Rainwater harvesting for Drylands and Beyond: Volumes I & II by Brad Lancaster
Gaia's Garden by Toby Hemenway
Permaculture: A Designer's Manual by Bill Mollison

After skimming through Volume I of the Rainwater harvesting books, it killed me to see how everyone here in the desert does everything they can to get the water off of their property when they need every last drop they can get.  It's been raining the past week and the streets here were rivers as the water flowed to the nearest wash to get it away from town as fast as possible.  The book showed pictures of a wash in Tucson that was a happy little stream in the early 1900's, but was now a sandy, dry bed.  If the people of Tucson captured the rain water as much as they could, that little stream would probably still be there.

Looking forward to what else I can learn from these 4 books.